Mini Drugstore Beauty Product Haul

Yay, my first product haul post! Here’s a quick rundown/review on each product I purchased.

OLAY FRESH EFFECTS MAKEUP WIPES (EVERYTHING OFF):

I’ve tried a few different drugstore makeup wipes, and they aren’t the greatest. They just don’t remove waterproof mascara (which is what I wear 90% of the time) very well. MY LUCK HAS CHANGED! These are amazing. They’re really soft, smell good, and actually remove my mascara. You do have to rub a little, but these wipes are SO much better than the other wipes I’ve tried (Up & Up and Garnier). 8 out of 10 stars.

COVERGIRL FULL LASH BLOOM MASCARA (WATERPROOF, VERY BLACK):

I’m aways looking for a new go-to mascara. I love L’Oreal’s Power Volume mascara but I might like this even more. It claims to give you soft lashes (instead of the really hard, brittle lashes you get with waterproof mascara)  and it does pretty good with that claim. It’s not a DRAMATIC difference, but my eyelashes are a good deal softer with this than with other waterproof mascaras. It’s a good, deep black and comes with a very nice plastic brush. I’m a fan and would definitely buy again! 8.5 out of 10 stars.

GARNIER NUTRISSE HAIR COLOR (BRONZE BROWN):

Yes, I color my hair :P. I was born with curly, frizzy, light brown hair and always wanted silky, straight, dark brown hair. I can’t remedy the curly part of my hair without straightening it constantly, but I can change the color! Usually I use L’Oreal’s Excellence Hair Color in Dark Chocolate Brown, but I wanted to give this brand and this color a try. Turns out I like it even more! The L’Oreal color got a tiny bit too dark for me, especially when I first colored it each time – it got DARK brown, almost black. I wasn’t sure if this would be too bronzey or turn my hair orange, but this is gorgeous. Since my hair still had some of the reddish brown from L’Oreal, my hair didn’t turn totally bronze-brown, but it’s shiny and bronzey-reddish brown (which I like). I think I will keep buying this color from this brand. I also think this conditioner smells so much better than L’Oreal’s, and it’s cheaper too! 8.5 out of 10 stars.

JOHN FRIEDA ROOT BOOSTER BLOW DRY LOTION:

I love John Frieda. This brand has AMAZING curl products! I noticed a coupon deal for $1 off any John Frieda product, so I picked this up. It claims to give volume to your hair, and it even has an ‘Allure Reader’s Choice Award Winner 2012’ stamp. I have only tried it once or twice but it seems to give a bit of volume to my roots. Nothing dramatic, but a bit of improvement. DO NOT USE IT ON DRY HAIR, though, as it becomes dry and hard :(. I will keep trying it, as it seems to be working. I definitely recommend this brand, I haven’t gotten any products that I don’t like! 7 out of 10 stars.

ESSENCE XXXL NUDE LIPGLOSS (SHY BEAUTY):

I love Essence. It’s cheap and actually pretty nice (Think NYC or Wet ‘n Wild, but better quality). This lipgloss, however, I have mixed feelings about. I like it, but it needs a really experienced hand and extremely moisturized lips. Here’s why: it is a gorgous pale pink color, but it sinks into any lines or dryness on your lips. A light coat won’t accentuate fine lines too much, and a coat over a lipstick looks lovely, but you have to be careful with it. If you exfoliate and moisturize well, I think it is very pretty. Definitely something I’ll be wearing, but I’ll save wearing it for when my lips are moisturized and smooth! 6 out of 10 stars.

MAYBELLINE COLOR TATTOO 24 HOUR METAL (BARELY BRANDED):

love this! It’s an easy-to-apply cream shadow in a shimmery champagne color. It gives a lot of brightness to any eye look and is a color that I think would be flattering on anyone. I like to wear it alone or with other eyeshadow. It’s pretty average-priced for a drugstore cream shadow ($6-$8). I definitely recommend giving this a try if you’re looking for a light cream shadow. 8.5 out of 10 stars.

 

Have you tried any of these products? How did you like them? Any suggestions for my next product haul? Let me know in the comments!

 

2 thoughts on “Mini Drugstore Beauty Product Haul

    • Glad you enjoyed the post, thank you for commenting! I learned about the wonders of the color tattoo eyeshadow from another blog, Beautiful With Brains. I decided to give it a try and I’m glad I did! Hope it works for you, too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

