All About That Base: Drugstore Foundations

image

From left to right: Maybelline Fit Me, CG Smoothers Hydrating, Rimmel Lasting Finish, CG Smoothers BB Cream, Revlon Colorstay, Covergirl + Olay CC Cream.

I love Sephora just as much as the next girl, but $60 for foundation isn’t realistic for me. If you’re on the hunt for a new, reasonably-priced foundation, read on! I’ve tried multiple drugstore foundations, and I decided to write a quick review on 6 of them to help you find out which is best for you. Though these foundations are on the expensive side for drugstore products, they have really nice colors and/or formulas. If you have a different skin tone/shade/type than me (cool-toned, porcelain, dry), these may or may not work for you. I also mixed a lot of these foundations together to get a better shade or coverage for me.

#6. Maybelline Fit Me foundation (110, normal/dry or regular): I like this foundation’s formula. Unfortunately, it’s much too yellow/warm-toned for me. I used to use 115 (which is WAYYY too dark for me) until I realize it was the wrong color, so I switched to 110 (still too yellow, but I was a newbie in makeup and had no clue). Unfortunately, I have dry skin, and when Maybelline came out with two different lines of foundation, (normal/dry and combination/oily), I grabbed the ‘dry’ 110 (obviously) and it was so yellow! Basically the same shade as the original 110. But the ‘oily’ 110? Much lighter and neutral toned. It probably would have worked for me (and I may buy it someday) but I was really disappointed in the different colors. Just because you have dry skin doesn’t mean your skin is dark and warm-toned, and vice versa with oily skin. In the summer, though, I’ll probably blend it with a lighter foundation or lotion and it will probably work wonderfully. Anyway, overall, this foundation has a nice formula and I think warm-toned girls would LOVE it. It has light/medium coverage and is a liquid formula. $6-$8. Sold at most stores. 3.5/5 stars (because of color).

#5. Covergirl CGsmoothers hydrating makeup (in 705, ivory): I really like this foundation. I got it on sale at Target for less than $3 and used most of it up in a really short time. It’s a wonderful cool/neutral shade and covered pretty well. As for the hydrating, it was okay. Coverage light/medium. Nice, smooth, liquid formula. $8-$9. Sold at most stores. 4/5 stars.

#4. Rimmel London Lasting Finish foundation (in 091, light ivory): I LOVED this foundation. I got mine at Target and was a little nervous because it’s not oil-free. Now, my skin is dry, but I didn’t want it to make me break out, either. Turns out, it was wonderful! It actually DID NOT make me break out, and if anything, made my breakouts go away. I’m not sure if it lasts 25 hours (as the bottle claims) because I don’t wear my makeup for that long :P. All in all, the color is nice, a tad dark for me but very pink toned, it would probably work well in the summertime. I’d definitely recommend this for normal to dry skin, as long as your skin doesn’t tend to break out from a little extra oil. It has a nice, floral smell and the coverage is medium. Thick liquid formula. $7-$9. Sold at select stores. 4/5 stars (only because the color is slightly off).

#3. Covergirl CGsmoothers BB Cream (in 805, fair to light): I really, really like this BB cream. I wasn’t sure whether to give 3rd place to the Rimmel foundation or this one, but I finally picked this one because the color is so spot-on and it’s really easy to wear. I generally like a little more coverage because I have some red in my skin, but this goes on so smoothly and is great to mix with a slightly-too-dark foundation. A little concealer and this and you’re good to go. I especially recommend this for anyone who doesn’t need a lot of coverage. Overall, I love the color (sheer, pink-toned ivory) and the formula. Great for when you don’t want to wear much makeup! Coverage is sheer/light. Thick liquid formula (comes in a squeeze bottle). $6-$9. Sold at most stores. 4.5/5 stars.

#2. Revlon ColorStay Foundation for Combination/Oily skin (110, ivory): THIS FOUNDATION IS AMAZING FOR FALL AND WINTER! It’s a wonderful matte shade and is the PERFECT color. It is for oily skin, which means I don’t use it all the time, but when my skin isn’t too dry, I LOVE this foundation. It matches my skin so well and I love the coverage it has and the matte finish. Definitely my fall/winter go-to. Coverage is medium, 110 is a neutral/pink ivory, and it’s a regular liquid formula. Not a pump or squeeze bottle, sadly, but it’s thin enough to pour out easily. $7-$11. Sold at most stores. 4.5/5 stars.

#1. Covergirl + Olay Tone Rehab CC Cream (in 105, ivory): I LOVE this foundation. It is so smooth and hydrating, has a nice color, and comes in a pump bottle. I bought this off Amazon because the price was a few dollars lower, and to my surprise, they included a second bottle! I’m so in love with this foundation and it mixes well with the above BB cream if you want a little less coverage. It’s pretty neutral-toned, I was surprised I liked it so much because it seems like it might be too yellow for me. Overall, I definitely recommend this foundation for normal/dry skin. Coverage leans more toward medium. Thick liquid formula with a pump bottle. $13-$15 per bottle in stores, $11-$12 for two bottles on Amazon. Sold at most stores and online. 4.5/5 stars.

I definitely recommend giving some of these a try, hopefully you find your perfect match!

Have you tried any of these foundations? What did you think? Let me know in the comments!

3 thoughts on “All About That Base: Drugstore Foundations

  1. If you get the chance try L’Oreal True Match! It has none of those awful orangey undertones and it has such a good coverage. I write about it on my latest post!

    Krys xo

    Elysianlight.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

