Teeth Whitening

If you’re like me, you’d love to get bright, shiny, white teeth (maybe for Christmas?). However, the teeth whitening kits at the store are so expensive, and home remedies can be dangerous to your teeth. If you’d like to know about the pros and cons of some common teeth whitening options, read on!

Lemon juice IS REALLY BAD for your enamel. I know that it whitens your teeth quite well and that if you leave it on for a VERY short amount of time, it’s probably okay, but I’m not willing to risk it. You can make that decision for yourself, but just know that acid is generally not a good idea for teeth.

My personal favorite so far is baking soda. It’s slower than lemon juice, but safer for your teeth. It can be slightly abrasive, so brush for no more than 2 minutes with it and avoid brushing your gums. Use it no more than every other day – you won’t want to use it more often, anyway, it tastes horrible! You won’t see immediate results, but after a week or two, you will definitely notice a difference! Mix it with water, hydrogen peroxide, or another liquid to make a paste, but be sure to brush with regular toothpaste as well (baking soda won’t prevent cavities!).

Coconut oil (oil pulling) is supposed to make your teeth and gums healthier, whiten teeth, clear up skin, etc. Some people have reported good things, some have reported no difference. I think I will give it a try eventually. If you’d like to try it, take about a tablespoon full of coconut oil and swish for about 15-20 minutes.

Most whitening toothpastes or whitening kits have hydrogen peroxide in it. The downside to kits is their price, not to mention the sensitivity to your teeth afterwards, however, hydrogen peroxide definitely makes your teeth whiter. I’m not sure if I would use hydrogen peroxide as a mouthwash, as some people do (to whiten teeth), because I’d be too afraid that I’d swallow it or that it would irritate my mouth, but that’s your call. If you do choose to do that, be sure to research it and MAKE SURE you dilute the peroxide.

Two whitening toothpastes that I’ve used that really work are the Crest whitening toothpastes and the Colgate whitening toothpastes. I am not talking about the regular toothpastes that claim to have whitening properties, I am talking about the special toothpastes both companies have made for quick, long-lasting whitening (examples are Crest 3D White or Colgate Optic White). These don’t make your teeth snow-white, but they do improve the whiteness of your teeth.

EXTRAS:
Strawberries are a good natural whitener.

I’ve heard that the Crest WhiteStrips work really well, so if your teeth aren’t too sensitive, those might be a good option. Otherwise, hopefully this information helped you out!

What do you use to whiten your teeth? Do you use home remedies or store bought products? Did this information help you out? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Teeth Whitening

  1. I just started using the Crest 3D White Stripes in Professional Effects last night! So far so good… I found them cheaper on Amazon as opposed to buying them in-store! My teeth briefly felt sensitive last night but nothing unbearable. We will see how day 2 (tonight) goes 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

