December Favorites!

Hello everyone!

I am so sorry for this post being so late! I promise I’ll try to be more on time this month 🙂 Anyway, read on for my December favorites!

Lotion: Jergens Ultra Healing and Clean & Clear Oil Free Dual Action

Jpeg

I love both these lotions, but especially used together! The oil free lotion I use right after cleansing, and then I layer the regular lotion over top. The reason I do this is to keep any blemishes and extra oil at bay, but to still moisturize my skin. My skin can go from normal-dry to very dry in an instant if I don’t moisturize regularly, but too much lotion will make me break out. The two step process keeps my face hydrated and breakout-free! I highly recommend using the oil free lotion with the regular lotion of your choice if you deal with dry skin that still breaks out!

Exfoliator: AYRES Body Polish

Jpeg

This is the most magical exfoliator I’ve ever had! I got it as a sample in one of my Birchboxes, and I absolutely fell in love with it. It’s not actually meant to be a face polish, but I read some reviews that said that the grains are a bit too soft to be a body scrub, so I tried it on my face and it was absolutely perfect. It exfoliates like a dream but the part that’s the most amazing? It doesn’t overscrub. You can mix it into face wash or just exfoliate any dry spots. It’s a bit pricey at $25 per jar, but it’s amazing. I’ve never had a better exfoliator!

Hairspray: 12 Benefits 

Jpeg

I got this hairspray in a free sample pack and adored it right from the start. It softens, moisturizes, adds shine, and seals in hair color, along with other fantastic benefits! It smells SO good, like my old Strawberry Shortcake toys and DVDs, which makes me love it even more 🙂 It does a wonderful job at adding shine and detangles well. It’s also a tad pricey (around $21) but it is a wonderful product, especially for curly, color-treated hair like mine.

Perfume/Body Spray: VS Passion Struck & VS Passion Struck Flirt

Jpeg

Oh my goodness these perfumes are wonderful. I picked them up on sale online and was pleasantly surprised to find out that I loved both of them, even though I’d never smelled them before! They are fantastic fall and winter scents, though I wouldn’t recommend them (especially Flirt) for spring and summer, as they’re a bit too heavy. The regular Passion Struck is a bit lighter and more cologne-y, so it’s a little more forgiving. However, both are lovely and perfect for the winter months! See my full review here.

Makeup Brush: Make Up For You Contour Brush

Jpeg

This brush (not to be confused with Make Up For Ever) came in a large set that I purchased on Amazon. It was extremely well priced (under $20) and came with a bunch of different brushes (face, eye, and lip) and a brush wrap. I was a bit skeptical about cheap brushes, but they work wonderfully. Shedding is minimal, the bristles are soft, the handles are long and thin, and they hold up well. Only one broke, which was probably my fault, because I probably let water get to the brush stem and dissolve the glue. Oops 😛 This angled contour brush is MAGICAL. It contours cheekbones fantastically, is super soft, and picks up a nice amount of product. I love the blush brush in this set as well, but the contour brush is just amazing and, since I’ve been doing a lot of contouring lately, it’s perfect. Definitely something to look for if you’re not too picky about your makeup brushes…I don’t know all the facts about the bristles but I know they’re soft and work well! If you’re looking for a well-priced, non-high-end brush set, look into these ones!

Highlighter: The Beauty Crop Lighting Crew

Jpeg

This highlighter is so great! I got it as a sample in my December Birchbox and also in my Birchbox Complexion Perfection Sampler (see the review here!). lt’s a little too shimmery to be worn on its own, but mixed with BB cream or foundation it’s wonderful! Apply the cream/highlighter mix to cheekbones and other highlight spots (like the bridge of your nose, cupid’s bow, eyebrow bones). It gives a wonderful glow without being obnoxiously glittery! I love the pinky-peach color and the smooth texture! This is $18 full-size and definitely is a great option if you’re looking for a shimmery (or not so shimmery, if you mix it with foundation) highlighter!

Eyeshadow Palette: Maybelline the Blushed Nudes PaletteJpeg

This is one of the best drugstore palettes I’ve had! The pigmentation is great on some of the shadows, which is rare for a drugstore palette. The combinations of shadows are endless! I love to combine two or three shadows for a light smoky eye or use the lighter, super shimmery shades for a more natural look. Wear seems to be nice and long, especially when worn with a primer, and fallout is minimal. I love it for special occasions and everyday wear! See my full review here.

Now that my December favorites are done, watch for my next Splurge or Save? post and high-end product review!

How did you like my favorites for December? Have you tried any of these products? If so, how did you like them? What were your December favorites? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

