January 2016 Birchbox

Hi everyone!

I’m sorry I haven’t been posting much lately, now all my catch-up posts will be coming at the same time 😛 Anyway, today is my January 2016 Birchbox post! This month’s box was very fun, especially because it came with stickers to customize it! Read on for the review 🙂

IMG_20160203_100706.jpg

I picked the “gratitude” sticker. There are quite a few other options such as “ambition” and “risks.” Let’s get started on the samples!

Harvey Prince “Bailando” Perfume:

First of all, this is a spray bottle, which is great. It’s a somewhat spicy, Oriental-ish scent, with a bit of musk and floral. It’s really nice for evening, and fall/winter. I definitely wouldn’t say it’s a daily, spring scent! Oh well. I do enjoy it, and it’s always nice to have extra perfume samples laying around for special occasions. 6/10 stars. Full size is approximately $28-$57 (there are different sizes).

Eyeko FAT Liquid Eyeliner:

This is a really well pigmented, felt-tip liner. It’s great for beginners but is nice for anyone, as you just sweep it on and go! The line is relatively thick (hence the name, there’s a skinny liquid liner by Eyeko as well). I haven’t worn it throughout the day yet, though I did read some reviews that said that it smudged during the day. I swatched it on my hand, though, and wore it throughout the day – it didn’t smudge or fade through washing my hands and doing everyday activities, so I can’t give you a definite verdict on the smudging 😛 This sample is full-size, which is a great plus! Overall, a nice liner that will get a bit of use. 8/10 stars. $16 full size.

IPKN Radiance Primer: 

This was my sample choice and I am so glad I picked it. It’s a fantastic primer that can even make matte foundations look gorgeous and radiant! It can be used as a glowy, NOT GLITTERY highlighter as well. I was considering getting the full size and then came across a fantastic dupe, watch for my next Splurge or Save post :D! However, I think that it is still a worthwhile purchase, as it is just so beautiful and glowy and smooth. Plus, it’s not glittery! I highly recommend. 10/10 stars, approximately $28 full size.

Shiseido Ultimune Eye Concentrate:

This is a nice sample size but is definitely directed toward an older age group, so it’s not a very good choice for a lot of people (especially with the hefty price tag!). However, it is supposed to help with dark circles, so I am giving it a try! I haven’t noticed a huge difference so far, but I haven’t been using it very consistently. It’s nice to have an eye cream every once in a while, so I like the sample, but I would NEVER purchase the full size (it’s so expensive!). It is a very comfortable serum and comes with quite a bit of product in the sample size. Definitely will use it up! 7/10 stars. Approximately $65 full size.

Whish Body Butter:

I get a lot of lotions and body butters from Birchbox, but I don’t mind, especially with my dry skin! Also, Whish is a new brand I’ve been really wanting to try, so I was pleased to see this in my box. I was hoping for any scent other than the Lavender, which is what I got, but it actually smells pretty good. The scent seems to be floral-y and sweet, mixed with lavender. It’s actually really nice. The sample size is nice but there’s not a lot of product in it. I’d love to try more of Whish’s products, as this pleasantly surprised me. 7/10 stars. Approximately $24 full size.

BONUS SAMPLE: Kerastase Resistance Bain Force Architecte Shampoo

This was my bonus, one-time-use sample. I didn’t include it in the pictures because I already used it 😛 Obviously, for a shampoo, one use isn’t enough to tell if I liked it or not, but it did seem pretty nice. Unfortunately, it’s extremely expensive, so I won’t be purchasing it again. It was nice to see that Birchbox added a bonus sample, though, as I have been subscribing since November! 6/10 stars. Approximately $40 full size.

This month’s Birchbox was pretty nice. I’m going to give it a solid 8 stars. Plus, I love the box design!

Do you subscribe to Birchbox? If so, how did you like this month’s box? Anyone with the same products? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

