How to Be an Awesome Customer

Hey everyone!

So I am super sorry that I haven’t posted in forever, I’ve been so busy with work. I decided that since millions of Americans (along with me) work in retail, that I’d do a special post dedicated to working retail. I know it doesn’t have much to do with my regular posts, but for any of you who work retail, hopefully this will be somewhat relatable 🙂

PLEASE understand that I am just one person, but these tips are just coming from a cashier who deals with hundreds of customers a day. These tips are mostly for treating people you talk to when you’re in a store/office/shop, such as baristas, cashiers, and secretaries, but obviously most of these are just common courtesy.

Number 1: Machine or Human?

Please, please, PLEASE say hello. Ask us how our day is going. Trust me, it really means a lot if you just give us 2 seconds to say “I’m doing great, thanks!” It makes us feel less like a machine and more like a person. We don’t feel the need to share our life story with you, but we do want to feel acknowledged for the fact that we’ve been standing on our feet for 7 hours and have said the same speech to 25 people in the last 15 minutes. And if you shop there often, when you recognize us and go to our line, it means even more. Trust me, we remember you, too! Be sure to leave a good impression.

Number 2: To Store Card or Not to Store Card, That is the Question

If you are shopping in a store like Target, Kohls, or Nordstrom (that has a specific store card), when the cashier (or other employee) begins talking about the store card, please don’t cut them off. Listen to their spiel, because they need to say it, and then turn them down pleasantly. If you say, “NO AND I DON’T WANT IT” as soon as we start talking to you, it really makes the whole transaction horrible.

Number 3: When Store Policy Isn’t YOUR Policy

If you ask for something and the cashier says, “I can’t. I’m sorry, it’s policy,” PLEASE do not get angry with them. We don’t create the policies, and the fact is, if you go to anyone else in the store, they’ll probably tell you the same thing. NEVER say “I got it last time,” or “Maybe I’ll just go to Customer Service,” because you really won’t get anywhere with that. I promise.

Number 4: Please Keep Children 10 and Under By Your Side at All Times

Please take control of your children. Do not let them run wild in the store, tearing up displays and dripping their smoothie all over the floor. Don’t let them push the wrong buttons on the card reader and mess up the transaction. Don’t let them sit on the conveyor belt. Your transaction and your store trip will be much quicker and much more pleasant if you watch them.

Number 5: Common Courtesy Guidlines

Finally, please be respectful.

  • If our lane light is off, ask us if we’re open, and don’t complain if we’re not.
  • If you spill something, tell us! We can clean it up, but we need to know where it is.
  • If you know you’re going to take a while (multiple forms of payment or lots of coupons), tell us so that we can direct people to other lanes.
  • Don’t take more than a few seconds to decide what you want to order if there are people behind you in line.
  • Respect our space and don’t try to lean over and scan or bag your own items.
  • Don’t flirt with the employees.
  • Don’t ask us to break a $100 bill at 8 in the morning.
  • Don’t ask for 40 $1 bills or 5 rolls of quarters, we’re not a bank!
  • If the total is over $5, don’t pay us in coins just because you don’t want to break that $20 bill.
  • Don’t swear or yell at us.
  • Don’t put the items you don’t want on random shelves.
  • And please don’t come up to the register or try to order food while on your phone.

Just be polite, and I promise you will enjoy your shopping experience more, and we will too!

Do you work in retail/food service? What are your pet peeves? Which one of these is the most important to you? Let me know in the comments!

BTW, if you work in retail, check out @retailprobz on Instagram and notalwaysright.com!

4 thoughts on “How to Be an Awesome Customer

  1. I used to work in a grocery store and customers would ask if this certain food item was on sale and I would check the catalog and not find it to be on sale. I would tell the customer and they would get angry at me and basically blame me for it not being on sale. Like I didn’t make up the prices, I’m just doing my job….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

